Thoughts on Cat Photography

Part of making a really cool cat blog is taking (and sharing) great pictures of cats. I am by no means a professional photographer; I have hand tremors and  I use an out-of-date little point-and-shoot camera that is in desperate need of replacing. However,  I have found some things that really work for me and some things that don’t.  Perhaps some of the pawsome photographers out there can add to this conversation (by all means do), but here are some of my discoveries:

Lighting makes all the difference in the world.

Cat Photography Manna Sitting Pretty

Digitally brightened photo of Manna with fixed “red-eye”.

I find that if I can take a photo of the cats with natural light, that  photo will turn out better than one taken with the the lamps in my apartment doing the lighting.  If natural light isn’t available, the lights have to be as bright as possible (without being blinding).  Photo editing programs can help to brighten a photo, but there is definitely a difference between a well-lit photo and a photo brightened by editing.  Good lighting also helps because  then you don’t need to use the flash.  Whenever I have to use the flash I spend tons of time editing “red eye” and/or sorting through photos to find one with the cats’ eyes open.

Cat Photography Manna Lying on Balcony

Naturally lit photo of Manna, no lighting or eye corrections.

Try to see the cat’s point of view.

Cat Photography Cinco with fuzzy ball

Cinco not realizing that I had placed a milk ring and a fuzzy ball on his head.

When I’m taking photos, I’m usually on my knees or crawling around on the ground to get as close to their eye-level as possible. Not too many interesting photos happen when I’m hovering over their heads. Photos that are taken straight on at the cats are a lot easier to use with an article if you ask me.

Get in the action.

Cat Photography  Manna and the candy cane

Manna playing with a catnip candy cane.

Action shots are adorable! They make the cats look alive and playful – it gives them personality. Many times when I do a photo shoot with my cats, I am playing with them with one hand and taking photos with the other hand. Lucky for me, my little camera has a setting for taking action photos so they don’t look too blurry. I use this setting all the time because of my hand tremors (if I don’t it will look like a took my photos during an earthquake).

Take lots of photos.

Cat Photography Manna Selfie Fail

A Manna selfie fail. Try, try, again.

It is rare that I get the photos I want in the first few shots. I just keep taking photos until either the cats have had enough or I’m just sick of taking photos. For my Wordless Wednesday shoots it is not unusual for me to take 100 photos. Then I just choose around 5 of them that turned out well to use. The more photos you take, the more likely you will get a few really good ones.

Add your own interpretation.

Cat Photography Manna Vs Jack Nicholson

I knew I’d seen that expression somewhere before…

Cats don’t pose. No matter what great idea you have for your photo shoot, expect it to go awry. I just add a few elements to my “scene” and I see what the cats decide to do with them. I don’t force anything. The cats will do whatever the cats want to do. If some scene elements are not getting a good response, I replace them and try again. Adding catnip is helpful, but then they may just get busy licking the cat nip and refuse to look at the camera.

After the photo shoot, I add my own interpretation to the photos. This is a creative process. I look at what I’ve got and I say something like  “hey, Cinco and Manna look like crime-fighting super heros” or ” This is like  one of those slow, dark film noir scenes” or “hey! Manna looks just like Jack Nicholson in this photo.” Some interpretations are more creative and some are more reality based.

Cat photography Cinco film noir

Cinco starring in Niptoon Noir.

Cat Photography Super Cinco Taunting the Red Dot (tagged)

Super Cinco attacks the Red Dot with his Super Raspberry.

A question for you: What qualities do you think make a great pet photo?

19 comments on “Thoughts on Cat Photography

  1. Well… I always suggest to the peep that she take pictures of my face and not the back of my head. She takes an awful lot of pictures of the back of my head. Of course, that’s ’cause I turn away from her when I see the camera comin’.

    Purrs,
    Nissy

    • You’re right, face pictures are a lot better than back of the head pictures. You should try to compromise with your peep, you know, use this whole thing to your benefit. Tell her that if she gives you treats when she wants to take pictures that you will look at the camera once in a while 🙂

  2. The Nicholson one is hilarious!!!
    I take horrible photos most the time. I just try and take a million of them so I can pick and choose.
    My animals always seem to know when I’m taking a picture and they always stop doing what they were doing and I never get to capture it lol so I have no tips in that!!!
    ((Husky hugz))
    Frum our pack at love is being owned by a husky

    • I love the Jack Nicholson one too! It’s one of my faves. Pets can be stinkers when it comes to taking photos! I have found that I have to play with them and take pictures at the same time in order to get anything going on. Photo shoots are a workout!

  3. mom is learning to turn the flash off on nice days when we have sun in the condo. admittedly she doesn’t edit photos so we have lots of laser eyes 🙂 we do agree that thank heaven for digital so she can take a bazillion pictures to get the few good ones

    • Digital cameras are a wonderful thing, I agree. There is no way this would work out the way it does if I had to buy film and get it processed. Perhaps you guys have powers like that guy from the X-Men who has the laser eyes! That would be awesome 🙂 Due to laser eyes, most of the cats’ eyes in my photos are drawn on 🙂

    • You’re right! Getting a good shot takes real persistence. Cats don’t let you pose them like people do. Congrats on getting the new camera! I hope you learn the software easily 🙂

  4. MOL! The Nicholson one is HILARIOUS!! I can’t get a good picture of Mikko even if I had the best camera in the world. I only have ONE good pic of him, and his eyes are glared and they look like they are glowing yellow! I stopped trying to take good pics of him and just snapped some even if his head was turned. Great post!

    I also took a look at the new PK, and it looks great! Keep up the good work guys!

    • Thank you so much! The new site is coming along well. I hope to have everything ready for the switch on Monday (fingers crossed). Of course I would get an audition this weekend because I’m trying to get so much done 😛
      The Jack Nicholson photo is one of my favorites. Manna is a hilarious cat. Sounds like MIkko is a little stinker 🙂 Cats have some kind of magical ability to predict a camera coming out. Cinco and Manna have begun to associate photo shoots with getting treats, so they get all excited. It is really funny.

    • Thank you! I really appreciate that. Hopefully they will just keep getting better. You guys must have a really nice camera because your photos are always crystal clear. They make you look really cute 🙂

      • The name of that annoying black flashing thingie the human is stalking us with is “Samsung WB5000” or something… The humans say it’s good for taking indoor photos (whatever that means 😉 ) Have a PURRFECT weekend! xoxo Roxy & Tigerlino

  5. Good tips! The mom tries to do these, but still fails miserably with some pictures. The hardest thing she finds is when we’re doing something really cute at night and she wants to get a picture. She knows that the flashy will give us funny eyes so tells us to look away from the camera. Ha! Like we’re gonna take direction.

    • Thanks! I think that a lot of pictures turn out poorly. That is why you need to take so many. 😛 I take most of my photos at night too, unfortunately. I do most of my blogging between midnight and 5 AM. You’re right, kitties do not take direction no matter how many times it is given. LOL

  6. Wonderful tips, especially the ones about natural lighting, props and getting as close to the cats’ level as possible. Our dad can often be found on the floor at the shelter, taking pictures of the kitties there. 🙂 Hugs! Moosey, Gracie and Zoe

    • Thank you! Your dad sounds like he’s a pretty good guy. It takes a very patient and persistent person to take good photos of kitties. It’s a good thing that cats are cute no matter what their doing pretty much.

Leave a comment